Loading Events


Special Event: Net Neutrality: What Does the Future Hold?

Tuesday, January 9, 2018
4:30 pm - 6:00 pm


Sherrerd Hall, 3rd Floor Open Space
+ Google Map

Hashtag: #netneutrality

Video Recording:

The 2015 Open Internet Rules were recently repealed by the FCC on a 3-2, party-line vote. What does this mean for home Internet users? Who will protect consumers? How will the change affect innovation and entrepreneurship? Will there be more investment in broadband deployment? Will interconnection strategies change? Will information be censored for political, commercial, or other reasons? At this special panel, sponsored by the Center for Information Technology Policy (CITP), experts will talk about what to expect following the FCC vote.


Edward W. Felten is the director of CITP, the Robert E. Kahn Professor of Computer Science and Public Affairs, and the director of the Program in Technology and Society, Information Technology track at Princeton University. He served at the White House as the deputy U.S. chief technology officer from June 2015 to January 2017. Ed was also the first chief technologist for the Federal Trade Commission from January 2011 until September 2012. His research interests include computer security and privacy, and public policy issues relating to information technology. Specific topics include software security, Internet security, electronic voting, cybersecurity policy, technology for government transparency, network neutrality and Internet policy.

Ed often blogs about technology and policy at Freedom to Tinker.


Tithi Chattopadhyay is the associate director at CITP. Her interests include analyzing and developing information and communication technology (ICT) regulatory frameworks, non-governmental forms of coordination and socio-economic impacts of digital technologies. She spent the last few years working with higher education institutions, local leaders, state leaders and their federal counterparts on technology policy and economic development issues. She was also the first director of the State of Wisconsin’s Broadband Office, where she led large-scale data collection projects and strategic planning initiatives. She has a Ph.D. in the area of information technology policy from Michigan State University. She also holds master degrees in economics and mathematics.

Nick Feamster is the deputy director of CITP and a professor in the Department of Computer Science at Princeton University. Before joining the faculty at Princeton, he was a professor in the School of Computer Science at Georgia Tech. He received his Ph.D. in computer science from MIT in 2005, and his S.B. and M.Eng. degrees in electrical engineering and computer science from MIT in 2000 and 2001, respectively. He received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the Technology Review “TR35” award, a Sloan Fellowship, and the SIGCOMM Rising Star Award for his contributions to cybersecurity, notably spam filtering. His research focuses on many aspects of computer networking and networked systems, with a focus on network operations, network security, and censorship-resistant communication systems. His research interests overlap with technology policy in the areas of censorship, broadband access networks, and network security and privacy.

Henning Schulzrinne, Levi Professor of Computer Science at Columbia University, received his Ph.D. from the University of Massachusetts in Amherst, Massachusetts. He was an MTS at AT&T Bell Laboratories and an associate department head at GMD-Fokus (Berlin), before joining the computer science and electrical engineering departments at Columbia University. He served as chair of the Department of Computer Science from 2004 to 2009, as Engineering Fellow at the US Federal Communications Commission (FCC) in 2010 and 2011, and as chief technology officer at the FCC since 2012. He has published more than 250 journal and conference papers, and more than 70 Internet RFCs. Protocols co-developed by him, such as RTP, RTSP and SIP, are now Internet standards, used by almost all Internet telephony and multimedia applications. His research interests include Internet multimedia systems, ubiquitous computing, and mobile systems. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, has received the New York City Mayor’s Award for Excellence in Science and Technology, the VON Pioneer Award, TCCC service award, the IEEE Region 1 William Terry Award for Lifetime Distinguished Service to IEEE and the UMass Computer Science Outstanding Alumni recognition.