Loading Events

Princeton-Microsoft IP Conference

Thursday, May 18, 2006
8:00 am


Robertson Hall Dodds Auditorium 100, Robertson Hall Bowl 016

Center for Arts and Cultural Policy studies is pleased to welcome all attendees to the Princeton University – Microsoft Intellectual Property Conference.


Keynote Panel

Anne-Marie Slaughter, Princeton University – Welcome
Shirley Tilghman, Princeton University – Moderator

Raymond Gilmartin, former CEO, Merck & Co., Inc.
Lawrence Lessig, Stanford Law School

Panel 1a
Panel 1b
Panel 2a
Panel 2b
Panel 3a
Panel 3b
Plenary Session

Organizing the Public Interest (Panel 1a)

May 19, 9:00 – 10:45 a.m., 100 Robertson Hall (Dodds Auditorium)

Paul Starr Princeton University – Moderator

Yochai Benkler, Yale Law School
David Einhorn, The Jackson Laboratory
Margaret Hedstrom, University of Michigan
Lawrence Lessig, Stanford Law School
Gigi Sohn, Public Knowledge

The Construction of Authorship (Panel 1b)

May 19, 9:00 – 10:45 a.m., 300 Wallace Hall

Howard Becker, Sociologist – Moderator
Seth Gordon, Filmmaker
Michael Joyce, Vassar College
Imani Perry, Rutgers School of Law – Camden
Glenn Wharton, Museum of Modern Art

Patents and Creativity (Panel 2a)
May 19, 11:00 a.m. – 12:45 p.m., 100 Robertson Hall (Dodds Auditorium)

Rochelle Dreyfuss, New York University – Moderator

Mario Biagioli, Harvard University
Stephen Burley, SGX Pharmaceuticals
Wesley Cohen, Duke University
Susan Mann. Microsoft
Katherine Strandburg. DePaul University College of Law

Tacit Knowledge and the Pragmatics of Creative Work: Can IP Law Keep Up? (Panel 2b)
May 19, 11:00 a.m. – 12:45 p.m., 300 Wallace Hall

Lynne Zucker, UCLA – Moderator

Jessica Litman, Wayne State University Law School
Michael Roukes, California Institute of Technology
Jerry Thursby, Emory University
William Tucker, University of California

Plenary Session : An International Perspective on Intellectual Property
May 19, 1:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m., 100 Robertson Hall (Dodds Auditorium)

Paul DiMaggio, Princeton University – Moderator

Sérgio Sá Leitão, Secretariat for Cultural Policies, Brazil

New Models of Innovation: Blurring Boundaries and Balancing Conflicting Norms (Panel 3a)
May 19, 2:30 – 4:15 p.m., 100 Robertson Hall (Dodds Auditorium)

Fiona Murray, MIT – Co-moderator

Siobhán O’Mahoney, Harvard Business School – Co-moderator
Kathleen Denis, The Rockefeller University
Jill Panetta, Innocentive
Scott Stern, Northwestern University
John Wilbanks, Science Commons

Compulsory Licensing: A Solution to Multiple-rights-induced Gridlock? (Panel 3b)
May 19, 2:30 – 4:15 p.m., 300 Wallace Hall

W. Russell Neuman, University of Michigan – Moderator

Edward Felten, Princeton University
Daniel Levitin, McGill University
Jule Sigall, U.S. Copyright Office
Christopher Sprigman, University of Virginia

Prioritizing Topics for Future Research
[closed working session; conference panelists, speakers]

May 20, 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon, Shultz Dining Room