Loading Events

, ,

CITP Conference: Ethics of Computer Science Research

Friday, May 5, 2017
9:00 am - 1:45 pm


Frist Multipurpose Rooms A-B

Video – Panel 1: Ethics of Machine Learning Research
Video – Panel 2: Ethics of Security Research
Video – Panel 3: Fostering Ethical Research

Computer scientists face thorny ethical questions in the course of everyday research: Could my new face detector be misused for racial profiling? Is my web crawler accidentally scooping up sensitive information about people? Inadequate attention to ethics risks undermining public trust; conversely, uncertainty about ethical norms and rules has a chilling effect on science.

This conference will bring together computer scientists and ethics scholars to tackle these questions, acknowledging that traditional research ethics may not easily translate to the new setting. Individual panels will consider ethics in subdisciplines such as data science and computer security, with major themes cutting across panels including how to teach ethics, how to engage with the public and other stakeholders about ethics in research, and what the research community can do to ensure that researchers act ethically.

Conference Schedule

8:30 a.m. – 9 a.m. – Continental breakfast

9 a.m. – Welcome: Arvind Narayanan, professor of computer science, Princeton University and Melissa Lane, professor of politics & director, University Center for Human Values, Princeton University

9:15 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. – Panel 1: Ethics of Machine Learning Research

Moderator: Arvind Narayanan, Princeton University



  • Joanna Bryson, University of Bath
  • Barbara Englehardt, Princeton University
  • Matt Salganik, Princeton University


10:30 a.m. – 10:45 a.m. – Break

10:45 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – Panel 2: Ethics of Security Research

Moderator: Elana Zeide, Princeton University



  • Nick Feamster, Princeton University
  • Prateek Mittal, Princeton University
  • Ben Zevenbergen, Princeton University



12:30 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. – Panel 3: Fostering Ethical Research

Moderator: Susan J. Brison, Princeton University



  • Chaitanya Baru, National Science Foundation
  • Mike Brennan, Ford Foundation
  • Ed Felten, Princeton University